Politically Correct?

adjective

  1. demonstrating progressive ideals, esp by avoiding vocabulary that is considered offensive, discriminatory, or judgmental, esp concerning race and gender.

So basically, a powerful form of censorship. The term ‘politically correct’ in the sense defined above, entered the language through the U.S. feminist and other left-wing movements of the 1970’s and then swiftly spread to other parts of the developed world. Over the last few years, our generation has become so politically correct that no longer is anything allowed to be funny because it might offend someone. YES, there are certain controversial topics like Rape, Pedophilia and racial violence that are certainly not okay to be joked about.

But

Isn’t humor about pushing boundaries?

I chose to write about this because I find that too many people around us take things 0 to 100 real quick. I regard myself as someone who is quite sensitive but I don’t get upset every time someone throws a joke at me. Caaaaaaamon! Okay, some people quite frankly ( a word used as a license to ignore all political correctness and allow you to say whatever you damn well want, regardless of who you offend and whether or not they are right in front of you – Urban Dictionary) are just plain assholes and I will refuse to ‘lighten up’ or ‘take a joke’ if the so-called intended joke comes from them. Most times, all it takes is their forever derogatory tone to instantly piss me off. Alright, I’m going off tangent here but there are some mystical creatures among us that believe they are somehow superior to the rest of us and make a point to insult everything that moves. But that’s besides the point, what I’m trying to say is…

3d2a5a7307f09dc3e98ab17500af6444

EVERYONE has a right to their opinion, it’s just that I also have an opinion and this is mine so buckle up. There are certain things that I choose not to say but hey hey hey ain’t no one going to tell me what I can or can’t say. I happen to be very conscious of where and when I say things personally. What I’m trying to say here is that we all are entitled to speak our minds with our own words (at our own discretion). That doesn’t mean you cuss out little kids or start being malicious towards people of different religions (at least not out loud).

I believe in freedom of speech,

I believe that we are all entitled to our own opinions,

and I believe in the ” each to their own mentality.”

With that said I beg of you, grow a pair and stop being such hypocritical idiots. And no, I won’t apologize for saying that.

6fd65d510150957694538300b0ab629a

Anyone who puts such a filter on the world, anyone who is so deeply offended by the very BEST things life has to offer (comedy,and art to name a few), anyone who is so humorless and easily rattled – is simply unpleasant to be around (buzzkill alert)

Rant over 🙂

Leave a Reply

