Wake Up & Make Up

“Beauty is power , and makeup is something that really enhances that; it’s a woman’s secret” ~ Charlotte Tilbury

IMG_20150925_135647
My Holy Grail

Growing up with two brothers, I never wore a dress, I never brushed my hair, played in dirt till the sun went down so putting on makeup was something that never crossed my mind. Even after I moved to New Zealand, the only thing that I would apply is eyeliner. I started off my makeup journey with a black pencil eyeliner then eventually switched to a liquid one (that I still use now).

In this post, I’ll be sharing my daily makeup ritual with you, which is a simple everyday/ natural look.

IMG_20150925_135810
A light moisturiser that protects from UVA & UVB rays with soothing Aloe Vera, Manuka Honey & Tea Tree oil

First up, I can’t stress enough how important it is to moisturise. Assess your skin type and choose a moisturizer according to your specific skin type.

This particular moisturiser that I use by Skinfood New Zealand is natural based and paraben free (woohoo ). I use this particular one as it has tea tree oil in it which prevents breakouts 🙂

After cleansing my face, I apply this face cream liberally on my face and neck and let it settle in for a bit so that my foundation is not too runny.

IMG_20150925_142954
MAC Studio Fix Fluid (NW 35)

Not a fan of the foundation range at MAC but gave it a shot when I received this as a present. I was quite surpised (and relieved) to see that it settled in well with my skin tone and I didn’t look like an oompa loompa so I guess that’s that :L

After shaking it well, I pour a tiny bit on to my hand and dab it on any scars (from breakouts) and on my cheeks. I then blend it in with my hands( I know most people like to use the sponge/ brush but I prefer my hands;) wait whaaat? 😛 ).

IMG_20150925_142605
Multi-tasking SPF30 Luminising, hydrating UVA & UVB protection, skin perfect tint (Medium).

Next up, I use this AMAZINGGGGG tinted moisturiser from Mecca Cosmetica. Hands down one of the best products that I have ever used. In a good light is a luminising tinted facial sunscreen that provides broad spectrum protection against UVA & UVB rays in a hydrating, matte finish cream. A multi tasking wonder, it gives my skin a sheer tint and a very natural type of radiance.

You gotta act cool, calm and collected around liquid liner. It can sense fear. 

IMG_20150925_143339
Left- Point Black Liquidlast MAC eyeliner ( Limited Edition packaging by Rihanna) Right- Napoleon Matte Eye

The liquid last eyeliner by MAC is the one thing I never leave home without. I apply it on my waterline and let it dry for a few minutes (to prevent from bleeding/flaking). I swear by this eyeliner and would definitely recommend it to everyone.

The Napoleon eye liner is amazing if you want a cat eye. It has an amazing matte finish that doesn’t smudge( who wants panda eyes right?).

IMG_20150925_143203
MAC Bronzing Powder – Bronze (Closed)
MAC Mineralize Skinfinish – Soft & Gentle (Open)

When it comes to choosing a bronzer, try to get a shade that is two times darker than your skin tone. With a brush, I make the number 3 on both sides of my face. I start at the top of my forehead and dust it along my cheeks and sweep it along my jaw line (It’s somewhere there under all my fat hehe) all the way down to my chin. Oh and if you want your nose to look slimmer try dusting some on the side of your nose (magic really).

Then, with another brush, I dust on a bit of the Mineralize skinfinish on my brow bone and then on my cheekbones as a highlighter. It gives a very metallic kind of finish (quite sexy 😉 ).

Red Lipstick is the beauty equivalent of a shot of espresso

IMG_20150925_143302
Lipstick – Russian Red
Lip Pencil – Follow your heart

MY FAVOURITE LIPPY – Russian Red ❤ ❤  

So someone once told me that there is a shade of red lipstick for every girl.

I have had a few red lipsticks that were very ‘mehh’ and didn’t quite hit the spot, so I walked into MAC to solve this horrible situation. Looking at all the different shades of lipstick made me so frazzled :/ So I asked for the attendants opinion. She looked at me and said she had the perfect shade for my skin tone. I trusted her and bought ‘Russian Red’ along with a lip pencil that blends in perfectly. 

This is just the perfect Matte Red. I will love you forever or till I find a better shade 😉

IMG_20150925_142722
Body Lotion by Pure Fiji (Guava)

Finally, my favourtire body lotion 🙂 I’ve tried most of the fragrances and Guava has got to be one of the top 3 that Pure Fiji has come up with. This body lotion leaves me feeling fresh and smelling great. (Just how you should)

“Perfume is the indispensable complement to the personality of a woman, the finishing touch on  a dress” ~ Christian Dior

IMG_20150925_142917

This perfume L’eu D’Issey reminds me of when my dad came home from a business trip to Japan. He bought lots of cute knick knacks for my brothers and I, and this perfume for my mum. I loved it so much and till today it is one of my favourites. It’s the perfect mix between sweet and woody. Funny how a fragrance can take you back in time.

This brings me to end of my post but here are some beauty tips at the top of my head ;

  • NEVER ever ever sleep with makeup on. Even if I’m trollied I always make a point to remove my makeup before I sleep. We get lazy and don’t realize how it affect s our skin and clogs our pores.
  • Always exfoliate your lips before applying Matte lipstick.
  • Don’t forget beauty products have an expiry date

Makeup should never be used to hide yourself . It should be to enhance your natural beauty. 

Thank you for reading ❤

Neha xx

Leave a Reply

